Race #1 in the books

I’m behind getting this blog up and running let alone up to date.  I think I’m intimidated by the process and now I can move forward and cross that off my list of “scary things” to do!

Since it’s been a while since I wrote something I feel compelled to reiterate my goals.  My 2018 personal goals are to complete 5 triathlons, raise $5,000 for the National Multiple Sclerosis Society in my 50th year!  Yep, I’m going big and making a statement.  AARP found me and I’m thumbing my nose at them!

My 1st of five races was the 2018 Big Rock Sprint TRI on 4/21/18.  800m swim, 16 mile bike & a 5k run.  My friend Laura came out to accompany me (I didn’t get a picture of us together…or of her…big fail on my part).  It was so special to have her there cheering me on!  This was my “E Race” so I focused on finishing and getting feedback on how I felt, what I can improve on, etc.  Here’s what I learned:

  1. Check my bike before entering transition in case there are problems during transportation to the race. My front brake was rubbing the tire.  I struggled the first 10 miles before I thought to check this and ground some of my fingers nails off fixing it while I continued to ride!  Those hills were tough and I had to dig deep to keep going.  At mile 6 I considered DNF’ing on my first race!
  2. Keep eating after the race for several hours. I struggled all day thinking I’d eaten enough and finally bonked around 8 pm that night.  Not a pretty scene.

On a more positive note, This race was 4 days after tax season and I finished feeling good (tired but good) and managed a 2nd Place AG Finish!  Full disclosure, there were 2 of us in my Age Group so finishing guaranteed me a medal and this race was so small they didn’t have finisher medals…WTH!  Stay positive Caren.  Finishing and podiuming at my first race of the season was a big boost of confidence!  Wildflower here I come!

IMG_8918.JPG

Coming out of the swim at the 2018 Big Rock TRI Sprint distance

IMG_8920.JPG

2018 Big Rock Sprint TRI pre and post race.

 

Leave a comment